ZX+ lower ram diagnostic help

For experts to discuss very technical stuff and newbies to ask why the Spectrum they bought off ebay doesn't work.
Jayhay
Drutt

ZX+ lower ram diagnostic help

Post by Jayhay »

Hello everyone. I was given a ZX+ for Christmas which worked for a little while, managed to get a few round of Jet Set Willy and Dizzy in before it just crapped out on me. See the image for the issue I'm having.
I've looked around online and discovered that it could be a lower ram issue. Im a competent electronics hobbyist and have replaced the two ram chips that appeared to be causing the issue, which I used the 'piggyback' technique to diagnose, but I'm still getting the same issue.
Ive now been looking through posts on here and discovered that's not necessarily the best way to diagnose the issue!

Can someone help me out by perhaps talking me through what I need to check? I've looked at the 4116 pinouts to see what pins are the 5v and 12v lines, so I guess I should check that out. Is there anything else I can do? I have 3 more spare ram chips but I can't really afford to invest in more hardware like rom testers etc...

Thanks in advance!

1024MAK
Bugaboo

Re: ZX+ lower ram diagnostic help

Post by 1024MAK »

4116 DRAM chips NEED three supply voltages plus a 0V/GND. The most important supply is the -5V bias supply.
So use a digital multimeter to confirm that ALL three supplies are okay. If any are out of specification, switch off at once. A missing -5V is known to cause damage to any remaining good 4116 DRAM chips.

-5V should be within +/-10%, but on earlier issue boards between -4V and -5V is acceptable.
+5V should be within +/-5% (often a lot better depending on which 7805 regulator was used)
+12V should be within +/-10%