Issue 6 problems

For experts to discuss very technical stuff and newbies to ask why the Spectrum they bought off ebay doesn't work.
Patxi
Drutt

Issue 6 problems

Post by Patxi »

Hi!

I am a complete ZX newbie, having recently bought this Issue 6 speccy. I have replaced the keyboard membrane, and i'm waiting for a new cap kit for it and for my M-332.

I ran it today, after replacing the keyboard, and it seemed ok for some 5 to 10 minutes. Then it froze. Powered it down, and the screen would start flickering either showing complete or incomplete Sinclair screen, restarting once or twice a second.

I let it rest for an hour, and then tried it again, this time filming it.

What could this be?

https://youtu.be/bsD_SRY0-ao

Thank you
Patxi
Drutt

Re: Issue 6 problems

Post by Patxi »

Took the multimeter at the 7805.
5.69V input, 4V output.

My working M-332 Speccy pulls the input voltage to the same 5.69V, but somehow keeps on ticking.

Seems like I have a power supply problem, 12+V no load, but bogs down under load.

Mort
Microbot

Post by Mort »

If you can`t get a Speccy Psu, pick up the mk1 megadrive psu as this uses the same voltage as the 48k speccy ;)
Scanner extraordinaire, 1000`s of magazines and Software from the 8 and 16 bit era now up on internet archive in lovely 600dpi.
Donations are welcome of items to scan that are no longer needed ;)
Patxi
Drutt

Post by Patxi »

Thanks Mort!

I found an online ad for an original 48k PSU for 15€.
Also found a 9v@2A smps for 13€, but needs the plug reworked for polarity.

Do the originals need being recapped?
Ast A. Moore
Rick Dangerous

Post by Ast A. Moore »

Patxi wrote: Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:00 pm Took the multimeter at the 7805.
5.69V input, 4V output.