Fuse on Ubuntu: Roms

Struggling with Fuse or trying to find an emulator with a specific feature. Ask your questions here.
Post Reply
Wall_Axe
Microbot
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:13 pm

Fuse on Ubuntu: Roms

Post by Wall_Axe » Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:52 pm

Does anyone know where im sposed to put the rom files on ubuntu?

I cant put the roms just anywhere and select where they are because fuse never saves it's settings on ubuntu

EDIT - oh its /usr/share/fuse

Now I cant find the pentagon roms
128p-0.rom

doesn anyone know where i could get them?
Last edited by Wall_Axe on Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Fuse on Ubuntu: Roms

Post by PeterJ » Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:56 pm

H,

You install the spectrum ROMs package.

Code: Select all

sudo spt-get install spectrum-roms
0 x

Wall_Axe
Microbot
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:13 pm

Re: Fuse on Ubuntu: Roms

Post by Wall_Axe » Tue Oct 30, 2018 6:01 pm

PeterJ wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:56 pm
H,

You install the spectrum ROMs package.

Code: Select all

sudo [b]a[/b]pt-get install spectrum-roms
thanks that worked
0 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Fuse on Ubuntu: Roms

Post by PeterJ » Tue Oct 30, 2018 6:28 pm

Great! Good to meet other Linux users. The version of Fuse included can be out of date if you are using 18.04. The Fuse team started distributing the latest versions via FlatPak. It's really easy to do on Ubuntu and gaurentees the latest version.

PM me if you want detailed instructions.
0 x

Wall_Axe
Microbot
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:13 pm

Re: Fuse on Ubuntu: Roms

Post by Wall_Axe » Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:12 pm

ok thanks
I used to use other versions of linux

Ubuntu stops me from installing a windows program from DVD a macromedia thing
I think its because ubuntu stops certain files being copied onto hard disk

so i would prefer a different version but ubuntu is ok :)
0 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Fuse on Ubuntu: Roms

Post by PeterJ » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:47 pm

You won't be able to install Windows software on Linux (unless you use WINE) or similar.

https://www.winehq.org
0 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Fuse on Ubuntu: Roms

Post by PeterJ » Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:27 pm

OK, to run the latest and greatest version of Fuse on Ubuntu, follow these instructions. Thanks to @Fred and team for making this happen.

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:alexlarsson/flatpak
sudo apt update
sudo apt install flatpak
sudo apt install gnome-software-plugin-flatpak
flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
The above is taken from https://flatpak.org/setup/Ubuntu/

Restart your computer

Install Fuse with:

Code: Select all

flatpak install flathub net.sf.fuse_emulator
And run it with:

Code: Select all

flatpak run net.sf.fuse_emulator
The above instructions are taken from:

https://flathub.org/apps/details/net.sf.fuse_emulator

Flatpak can also run on many other distros including Fedora, openSUSE, Arch, Debian and Mint. Details are here:

https://flatpak.org/setup/
1 x

Post Reply