Fuse 1.5.2 released

Struggling with Fuse or trying to find an emulator with a specific feature. Ask your questions here.
User avatar
Guesser
Microbot
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by Guesser » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:04 pm

Double sided disk images are still somewhat counter-intuitive to use. You need to set the drive options to be a double sided drive to create both sides of the disk (format, flip it, format again). That image will then work with a single head drive (both sides must be formatted though or saving the image fails with bad geometry).
It would be nice if the act of flipping a single sided disk in a single sided drive added the second side, but I guess that could be difficult to achieve.

It also still creates a file with two side 0s. Side 1 of a double sided disk image can't be formatted by fuse by flipping the disk as far as I can see.
0 x

User avatar
Ast A. Moore
Dynamite Dan
Posts: 1189
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by Ast A. Moore » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:12 pm

serbalgi wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 2:36 pm
I think you can still use the old autoload snapshots on a dev workflow:

Code: Select all

fuse tape_48.szx --tape your_tape.tap
Choose the autoload snapshot from an old version or here:
https://sourceforge.net/p/fuse-emulator ... compressed
Thanks. That’s too convoluted, though, but I might give it a shot, after Fred cooks up v1.5.2 for macOS.
0 x
Every man should plant a tree, build a house, and write a ZX Spectrum game.

Author of A Yankee in Iraq, a 50 fps shoot-’em-up—the first game to utilize the floating bus on the +2A/+3,
and zasm Z80 Assembler syntax highlighter.

dfzx
Microbot
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:55 pm
Location: New Forest, UK
Contact:

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by dfzx » Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:46 pm

Ast A. Moore wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:12 pm
serbalgi wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 2:36 pm
I think you can still use the old autoload snapshots on a dev workflow:

Code: Select all

fuse tape_48.szx --tape your_tape.tap
Choose the autoload snapshot from an old version or here:
https://sourceforge.net/p/fuse-emulator ... compressed
Thanks. That’s too convoluted, though, but I might give it a shot, after Fred cooks up v1.5.2 for macOS.
I've just built and tested fuse 1.5.2 for Linux. I thought I might time a drag and drop load so you'll know what to expect. Truth is, with the "phantom typist" in working in "auto mode" (whatever that is) it's too fast to time. You don't actually see the typing like you used to; you don't actually see anything happen in the Spectrum window. It looks like they've optimised it by turning off the screen updates or something.

Assuming the Mac version you're after is the same as the Linux version, I think you'll like it. :)
1 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 1306
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by PeterJ » Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:39 pm

HI @Fred I just tried to download from Sourceforge and got an error on the Windows Setup:

The "/fuse/1.5.2/fuse-1.5...5.2-win32-setup.exe" file could not be found or is not available. Please select another file.
0 x

User avatar
Ast A. Moore
Dynamite Dan
Posts: 1189
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by Ast A. Moore » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:04 pm

dfzx wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:46 pm
with the "phantom typist" in working in "auto mode" (whatever that is) it's too fast to time. You don't actually see the typing like you used to; you don't actually see anything happen in the Spectrum window. It looks like they've optimised it by turning off the screen updates or something.

Assuming the Mac version you're after is the same as the Linux version, I think you'll like it. :)
Thanks for the info, man! I sure hope so, as I’m really used to seeing my program already running by the time the OS switches focus from the text editor to Fuse. Fuse for macOS is a special beast, though. Pretty much a standalone app and not a port. I think Fred builds it using the latest Fuse source as a base, and puts a lot of extra effort into making it a native macOS application. So, we’ll see.
0 x
Every man should plant a tree, build a house, and write a ZX Spectrum game.

Author of A Yankee in Iraq, a 50 fps shoot-’em-up—the first game to utilize the floating bus on the +2A/+3,
and zasm Z80 Assembler syntax highlighter.

User avatar
Fred
Berk
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:15 am

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by Fred » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:19 pm

PeterJ wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:39 pm
HI @Fred I just tried to download from Sourceforge and got an error on the Windows Setup:

The "/fuse/1.5.2/fuse-1.5...5.2-win32-setup.exe" file could not be found or is not available. Please select another file.
Hi @PeterJ, I just checked the download and it was OK - could you try again to see if the problem is resolved?
0 x

serbalgi
Berk
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:13 am

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by serbalgi » Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:06 am

Guesser wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:04 pm
Double sided disk images are still somewhat counter-intuitive to use. You need to set the drive options to be a double sided drive to create both sides of the disk (format, flip it, format again). That image will then work with a single head drive (both sides must be formatted though or saving the image fails with bad geometry).
That's pretty much the process. A future version will warn when trying to save unformatted sides to DSK images. An UDI format can save unformatted tracks.
It would be nice if the act of flipping a single sided disk in a single sided drive added the second side, but I guess that could be difficult to achieve.
Thanks, it's a nice idea to consider.
It also still creates a file with two side 0s. Side 1 of a double sided disk image can't be formatted by fuse by flipping the disk as far as I can see.
I'm not sure that's an issue to fix. Tracks of both sides are correctly stored in the DSK image, but tracks are formatted by +3DOS and the ID address mark that precedes every sector are always set as head 0:

Code: Select all

DD FORMAT
016Ch (364)
Format a track. (Uses the uPD765A format track command.)

Buffer contains 4 bytes for each sector as follows:
    C - Track number (0...39)
    H - Head number (always 0 on the +3's single-sided drives)
    R - Sector number (0...255)
    N - Log2(sector size)-7 (2 for 512 byte sectors)
DU54 is able to format tracks on double sided drives with correct marks.

Also, I guess your version of Spin Disk Manager use the first address mark to name the side (couldn't found that version). Newer versions of Disk Image Manager use the information in the image rather than the address marks.
0 x

User avatar
Guesser
Microbot
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by Guesser » Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:02 pm

serbalgi wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:06 am
Also, I guess your version of Spin Disk Manager use the first address mark to name the side (couldn't found that version). Newer versions of Disk Image Manager use the information in the image rather than the address marks.
I thought I was using the latest version. It's entirely possible I'm using it incorrectly though :)

It's not an important problem, just noting that disk images formatted double sided can't be reformatted to single sides in fuse.
Since I doubt anyone is emulating double sided 40 track drives in anger it's rather irrelevant. :)
1 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 1306
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by PeterJ » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:26 pm

Fred wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:19 pm
Hi @PeterJ , I just checked the download and it was OK - could you try again to see if the problem is resolved?
Thanks @Fred now working fine. Cheers
0 x

User avatar
Einar Saukas
Manic Miner
Posts: 937
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:48 pm

Re: Fuse 1.5.2 released

Post by Einar Saukas » Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:05 pm

Hi @Fred, may I provide another suggestion for improvement?

When users save a screenshot, it's always their intention to obtain an accurate copy of whatever they are seeing on screen. However that's not what happens in practice. Every emulator I know will simply dump a copy of memory content from screen area starting at 16384. The problem is, quite often this content doesn't correspond to currently visible screen, because the program may have already started to modify screen area in preparation for the next screen. There's a reasonable chance the saved screenshot will contain parts of the current frame mixed with parts of the next frame.

It would be more accurate to "remember" exactly the bytes that produced each piece of the current screen, and save those instead. Fuse is already managing this information anyway for saving MLT screenshots, so it should be trivial to use it for regular screenshots (SCR or otherwise) too.

Games that update screen at 50Hz will mostly benefit from this feature. It's very hard to save a proper SCR image of those games, that won't show parts of 2 different images.

The only drawback is, if users save a screenshot immediately after loading a snapshot, the emulator won't have the same detailed information about generating current screen. In this case only, it can simply fallback into saving a memory dump of the screen memory area. But that's nothing new, really. Try pausing any emulator, then loading a multicolor game, for instance. The screen will appear distortrd, because the emulator won't know how to reconstitute current screen, until running the program for another frame.
0 x

Post Reply