Staring at screens...

General wibble, please play nice.
R-Tape
Site Admin

Staring at screens...

Post by R-Tape » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:11 am

How long do you spend in front of a monitor each day? And how does it make you feel?

Now that I’m back into speccy developing and doing SC stuff I’m staring at screens a lot more and it’s leaving me wired at the end of the day. Right now I spend 2-3 hours on a PC at work and up to 2 in the evening on a laptop. I imagine the numbers I quote here will be dwarfed by people who are developers by trade. Any tips on doing this and still feeling healthy?
0 x

Ast A. Moore
Dizzy

Re: Staring at screens...

Post by Ast A. Moore » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:27 am

I often spend an entire day looking at my computer screen to (seemingly) no ill effect. Then again, I never had a problem looking at 60 Hz CRT displays for an extended time back in the day either. Never understood what all the higher-refresh-rate fuss was all about.
0 x
Every man should plant a tree, build a house, and write a ZX Spectrum game.

Author of A Yankee in Iraq, a 50 fps shoot-’em-up—the first game to utilize the floating bus on the +2A/+3,
and zasm Z80 Assembler syntax highlighter.

R-Tape
Site Admin

Post by R-Tape » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:39 am

Are you very diligent about your display screen setup (monitor distance at arm's length, good lighting etc)? If I'm coding before bed I have to read a book or do something else for about at least half an hour to have a chance of sleeping.

I blame the CRT telly for my widow's peak, I should have put tin foil on my head.
0 x

Spud
Berk

Post by Spud » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:40 am

Sounds like you're living the dream!

I sit in front of a computer screen from 9-6 at work, then again a couple of hours in the evening, sometimes longer depending on what I happen to be doing at that time.