ive noticed that their is a big difference between the z80 instruction set and the 6502 instruction set

Anything relating to non Sinclair computers from the 1980's, 90's or even before.
Manic Miner

ive noticed that their is a big difference between the z80 instruction set and the 6502 instruction set

Post by 777 »

only some of the opcodes are the same.are the 2 different processors that different to code for?
i started programming the spectrum when i was 8 :-

1 plot rnd*255,rnd*175
2 goto 1
catmeows
Manic Miner

Re: ive noticed that their is a big difference between the z80 instruction set and the 6502 instruction set

Post by catmeows »

Not really. They have quite similar set of actions but they differ a lot in adressing modes and also mnemonics for machine code instructions differ a lot.
For example, storing register A into memory byte $8000
Zilog: ld ($8000), a
Motorola sta $8000
Proud owner of Didaktik M
Manic Miner

Re: ive noticed that their is a big difference between the z80 instruction set and the 6502 instruction set

Post by 777 »

ok i see, so there are equivalents?

1 plot rnd*255,rnd*175
2 goto 1
PROSM
Manic Miner

Post by PROSM »

777 wrote: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:10 pm only some of the opcodes are the same.are the 2 different processors that different to code for?
Yes, they are different architectures, designed by two different teams with two different design goals. The 6502 is a simplified version of the Motorola 6800 design, whereas the Z80 is a software-compatible upgrade to the Intel 8080. There are similarities, but the mnemonics, addressing modes and flags differ quite a bit.

If you need to do a quick and dirty conversion, you can use this Z80 to 6502 recompiler from the AtariAge forums. Tools probably exist for the reverse as well. Of course, you'll need to rewrite all of the system-specific code (graphics, sound, etc.)
All software to-date
Working on something, as always.
catmeows
Manic Miner

Post by catmeows »