Little bugs in the database 2

This is the place for general discussion and updates about the ZXDB Database. This forum is not specific to Spectrum Computing.

Moderator: druellan

User avatar
Einar Saukas
Manic Miner
Posts: 937
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:48 pm

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by Einar Saukas » Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:54 pm

8BitAG wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 7:26 pm
They didn't re-release any DTHS for Spectrum. Especially not in 1991. We were still selling them ourselves!
Is it possible that "The Guild" re-released it much later (just the date is wrong)?
0 x

User avatar
8BitAG
Manic Miner
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:25 pm

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by 8BitAG » Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:34 pm

Einar Saukas wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:54 pm
Is it possible that "The Guild" re-released it much later (just the date is wrong)?
No, they did not release the Spectrum version. Somebody has just got confused with the Commodore version.
0 x

User avatar
patters
Dizzy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:06 am

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by patters » Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:10 am

pavero wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 4:26 pm
R-Tape wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:09 am
patters wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:41 pm
Also, when the game is launched via the qaop online emulator it attempts to run it in 128K mode which is not appropriate given that it's a 16K game. Since by design the game does not auto launch, the 128K Tape Loader starts after loading if a key is pressed (confusing to the uninitiated), whereas on the 48K it would show the listing as intended. qaop needs the parameter "~128" rather than "128".
Just flagging this for @PeterJ and @4thRock as it's website code related. Is this doable guys?
Fixed!
✓ reviewed
It looks like the site is using "48" as a parameter on the URL for the qaop emulator but this has no effect, it's still launching in 128K mode. The correct parameter for 48K mode is not "48", it's "~128" according to the help (somewhat unintuitively).
0 x
25 years in the making: Artillery projectile motion simulation
20 years in the making: Line a one line arcade game

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 1306
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by PeterJ » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:54 am

Thanks @patters

I will take a look. Peter
0 x

User avatar
R-Tape
Site Admin
Posts: 2523
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:46 am

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by R-Tape » Sat Oct 12, 2019 6:38 am

I get 48K on PC, 128K on mobile.
0 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 1306
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by PeterJ » Sat Oct 12, 2019 11:06 am

@patters and @R-Tape

I have changed the code so that URL now comes out as:

http://torinak.com/qaop#~128#l=https:// ... KL2NMG.tap

Please can you test?

Just for @pavero who created code, the fIle changed was playonline.php

Code: Select all

$model2 = $row['machinetype_id'] <= 3 ? "48" : "128";
changed to:

Code: Select all

$model2 = $row['machinetype_id'] <= 3 ? "~128" : "128";
1 x

User avatar
R-Tape
Site Admin
Posts: 2523
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:46 am

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by R-Tape » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:06 pm

PeterJ wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 11:06 am
Cheers Peter. Yep both are 48K for me.
0 x


User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 1306
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by PeterJ » Sat Oct 12, 2019 7:47 pm

R-Tape wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:06 pm
PeterJ wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 11:06 am
Cheers Peter. Yep both are 48K for me.
Boom!
1 x

User avatar
patters
Dizzy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:06 am

Re: Little bugs in the database 2

Post by patters » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:16 pm

PeterJ wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 11:06 am
@patters and @R-Tape

I have changed the code so that URL now comes out as:

http://torinak.com/qaop#~128#l=https:// ... KL2NMG.tap

Please can you test?

Just for @pavero who created code, the fIle changed was playonline.php

Code: Select all

$model2 = $row['machinetype_id'] <= 3 ? "48" : "128";
changed to:

Code: Select all

$model2 = $row['machinetype_id'] <= 3 ? "~128" : "128";
Hi PeterJ, yes that's working as expected now. Thanks!
1 x
25 years in the making: Artillery projectile motion simulation
20 years in the making: Line a one line arcade game

Post Reply