Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
User avatar
spider
Microbot
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 9:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by spider » Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:22 pm

Neil48k wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:13 pm
Thanks for all the work you’ve put into answering my question. Am I right in thinking this relates to emulators? I haven’t tried those yet. I’m using an original 48k Spectrum. I think I may have to investigate this :geek:

Thank you :D
You're welcome.

No that will work on a real machine. Just type it in and RUN it :)

Takes about a minute / minute and a half or so to 'work' as it has to 'draw' onto each character row.

At the end it will show the normal default font (or whatever was chosen at the time) then the 'new' one and leave the new one active. See POKE's provided and the SAVE if needed.

Note you can run it again to thicken the font again! But it gets very messy.

If you're stuck and can type blind then POKE 23607 , 60 and (not needed here but worth knowing) POKE 23606 , 0 should restore normality.
1 x

User avatar
spider
Microbot
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 9:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by spider » Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:05 am

If anything posted does not make sense or you cannot get it to work, don't struggle - just post back and someone will likely try to assist. :)
1 x

Post Reply