Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
User avatar
alban lusitanae
Berk
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:49 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by alban lusitanae » Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:35 am

I will use them, dont have time to write one of my own at the moment
0 x

User avatar
alban lusitanae
Berk
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:49 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by alban lusitanae » Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:38 pm

just one question, it takes how much, 1k? I am always struggling for memory
0 x

User avatar
Einar Saukas
Manic Miner
Posts: 937
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:48 pm

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by Einar Saukas » Sat Jul 13, 2019 6:28 pm

A complete font is 768 bytes.

If you don't need lowercase letters, then loading only characters from SPACE to Z will take 472 bytes.
1 x

Neil48k
Berk
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:10 pm

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by Neil48k » Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:25 pm

spider wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:14 pm
1. Not really, not unless you 'write' directly to the new font location to 'build' it live. A bit like that character thickener routine that's been used in a few bits of Basic. Not unless you change it in the ROM that is. :D
I’ve been searching for a character thickening routine, but this is the only mention I’ve seen of one. Can anybody point me in the right direction? I had a routine to make text bolder back in the eighties, but that’s lost in the mists of time. I’m hoping the one mentioned is the same thing (or similar).

I’m getting back into Spectrum programming after a 30+ year break, so any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks
Neil
0 x

User avatar
Fahnn
Microbot
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:56 pm
Location: Redcar, UK
Contact:

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by Fahnn » Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:28 pm

Neil48k wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:25 pm
spider wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:14 pm
1. Not really, not unless you 'write' directly to the new font location to 'build' it live. A bit like that character thickener routine that's been used in a few bits of Basic. Not unless you change it in the ROM that is. :D
I’ve been searching for a character thickening routine, but this is the only mention I’ve seen of one. Can anybody point me in the right direction? I had a routine to make text bolder back in the eighties, but that’s lost in the mists of time. I’m hoping the one mentioned is the same thing (or similar).

I’m getting back into Spectrum programming after a 30+ year break, so any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks
Neil
Something similar to this one? Your mention of "thickening" fits the bill here. But there are plenty of people on this forum who know a lot more about this than I do, so I'm sure someone will have better help. All the best of luck with the programming though. I'm another one who's returned to it after decades and I still find it great fun.
1 x

User avatar
spider
Microbot
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 9:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by spider » Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:43 pm

Neil48k wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:25 pm
spider wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:14 pm
1. Not really, not unless you 'write' directly to the new font location to 'build' it live. A bit like that character thickener routine that's been used in a few bits of Basic. Not unless you change it in the ROM that is. :D
I’ve been searching for a character thickening routine, but this is the only mention I’ve seen of one. Can anybody point me in the right direction? I had a routine to make text bolder back in the eighties, but that’s lost in the mists of time. I’m hoping the one mentioned is the same thing (or similar).

I’m getting back into Spectrum programming after a 30+ year break, so any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks
Neil
Not mine but I modded it a tad to make it a bit more helpful! Note I could of made it a lot more effecient but it causes confusion if I type PRINT "" vs PRINT '''' as the former is " and the latter is '

1. If using standard font ignore this step and step 2
2. Load your new font in and 23606/23607 to 'enable' it. Ensure its loaded into higher memory area say above 32768 as otherwise will be overwritten
3. Ready ? Here:

Code: Select all

10 CLEAR 31600 : LET A=31744
20 FOR N=32 TO 127
30 PRINT AT 21,0;CHR$ N
40 FOR Y=7 TO 0 STEP -1
50 FOR X=6 TO 0 STEP -1
60 IF POINT (X,Y) THEN PLOT X+1,Y
70 NEXT X
80 POKE A , PEEK (22432-256*Y)
90 LET A=A+1
100 NEXT Y
110 NEXT I : CLS
120  POKE 23607,60: PRINT : FOR A=32 TO 127: PRINT CHR$ A; : NEXT A
130 POKE 23607,123 : PRINT : PRINT 
140 FOR A=32 TO 127 : PRINT CHR$ A; : NEXT A
Note I had to type that in here!

4. You can "save" the font (try LIST if needed) via SAVE " name " CODE 31744 , 768
5. POKE 23607 , 123 to enable it (at 31744) , POKE 23607 , 60 to switch to default rom one.

Tip: Just try it with the default one first. There's no check for the font in use at the time so if you have a custom one (see '2') make sure its out the way etc.

6. Enjoy!
1 x

User avatar
Ast A. Moore
Dynamite Dan
Posts: 1189
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by Ast A. Moore » Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:50 pm

Neil48k wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:25 pm
I’m getting back into Spectrum programming after a 30+ year break, so any help would be appreciated :)
Not exactly what you’re looking for, but since you’re getting back to coding, you might find this interesting nevertheless.
1 x
Every man should plant a tree, build a house, and write a ZX Spectrum game.

Author of A Yankee in Iraq, a 50 fps shoot-’em-up—the first game to utilize the floating bus on the +2A/+3,
and zasm Z80 Assembler syntax highlighter.

Neil48k
Berk
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:10 pm

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by Neil48k » Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:38 pm

Thanks to everyone who responded. I’m amazed by the quickness of your kind replies.

I think I may be using this forum a lot! :D
2 x

Neil48k
Berk
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:10 pm

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by Neil48k » Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:02 pm

Fahnn wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:28 pm
Neil48k wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:25 pm
spider wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:14 pm
1. Not really, not unless you 'write' directly to the new font location to 'build' it live. A bit like that character thickener routine that's been used in a few bits of Basic. Not unless you change it in the ROM that is. :D
I’ve been searching for a character thickening routine, but this is the only mention I’ve seen of one. Can anybody point me in the right direction? I had a routine to make text bolder back in the eighties, but that’s lost in the mists of time. I’m hoping the one mentioned is the same thing (or similar).

I’m getting back into Spectrum programming after a 30+ year break, so any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks
Neil
Something similar to this one? Your mention of "thickening" fits the bill here. But there are plenty of people on this forum who know a lot more about this than I do, so I'm sure someone will have better help. All the best of luck with the programming though. I'm another one who's returned to it after decades and I still find it great fun.
I think it was exactly that. The same routine I copied from a magazine back in the early eighties. Thank you so much :D
1 x

Neil48k
Berk
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:10 pm

Re: Changing Fonts in ZX Spectrum :)

Post by Neil48k » Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:13 pm

spider wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:43 pm
Neil48k wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 3:25 pm
spider wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:14 pm
1. Not really, not unless you 'write' directly to the new font location to 'build' it live. A bit like that character thickener routine that's been used in a few bits of Basic. Not unless you change it in the ROM that is. :D
I’ve been searching for a character thickening routine, but this is the only mention I’ve seen of one. Can anybody point me in the right direction? I had a routine to make text bolder back in the eighties, but that’s lost in the mists of time. I’m hoping the one mentioned is the same thing (or similar).

I’m getting back into Spectrum programming after a 30+ year break, so any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks
Neil
Not mine but I modded it a tad to make it a bit more helpful! Note I could of made it a lot more effecient but it causes confusion if I type PRINT "" vs PRINT '''' as the former is " and the latter is '

1. If using standard font ignore this step and step 2
2. Load your new font in and 23606/23607 to 'enable' it. Ensure its loaded into higher memory area say above 32768 as otherwise will be overwritten
3. Ready ? Here:

Code: Select all

10 CLEAR 31600 : LET A=31744
20 FOR N=32 TO 127
30 PRINT AT 21,0;CHR$ N
40 FOR Y=7 TO 0 STEP -1
50 FOR X=6 TO 0 STEP -1
60 IF POINT (X,Y) THEN PLOT X+1,Y
70 NEXT X
80 POKE A , PEEK (22432-256*Y)
90 LET A=A+1
100 NEXT Y
110 NEXT I : CLS
120  POKE 23607,60: PRINT : FOR A=32 TO 127: PRINT CHR$ A; : NEXT A
130 POKE 23607,123 : PRINT : PRINT 
140 FOR A=32 TO 127 : PRINT CHR$ A; : NEXT A
Note I had to type that in here!

4. You can "save" the font (try LIST if needed) via SAVE " name " CODE 31744 , 768
5. POKE 23607 , 123 to enable it (at 31744) , POKE 23607 , 60 to switch to default rom one.

Tip: Just try it with the default one first. There's no check for the font in use at the time so if you have a custom one (see '2') make sure its out the way etc.

6. Enjoy!
Thanks for all the work you’ve put into answering my question. Am I right in thinking this relates to emulators? I haven’t tried those yet. I’m using an original 48k Spectrum. I think I may have to investigate this :geek:

Thank you :D
1 x

Post Reply