Page 1 of 1

Making .TRD (for Pentagon and otherwise)

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:00 am
by R-Tape
If I wanted to make a .TRD version of a game (or tape magazine), how do I go about it?

Would a .TRD for the Pentagon need to be different to any other .TRD?

(note—I know next to nothing about disk formats or the clone machines)

Re: Making .TRD (for Pentagon and otherwise)

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:13 am
by g0blinish
use sjasmplus, Luke (:

Code: Select all

	device zxspectrum128
        ORG #6000
begin
 ... your code
end
	display /d,end-begin
and save code to .trd:

Code: Select all

    EMPTYTRD "dust.trd" ;create empty TRD image
    SAVETRD "dust.trd","demo.C",begin,end-begin
Last step is create Basic-loader, it possible with sjasmplus:

Code: Select all

basic_b:
 db #00,10;number 10
 DW EndLine1 - Line1
Line1:

 db $FD;clear
 db $B0;val
 db $22,"45055",$22,":"
 db $F9;randomize
 db $C0;usr
 db $B0;val
 db $22,"15619",$22,":"
 db $EA;rem
 db ":"
 db $EF;load
 db $22,"demo",$22
 db $AF;code
 db #0D
EndLine1:

 db #00,20
 DW EndLine2 - Line2
Line2:
 db $F9;randomize
 db $C0;usr
 db $B0;val
 db $22,"45056",$22
 db #0D
EndLine2:

 db #80;for autorun
 db #AA,10,0
basic_e:

for save:
	SAVETRD "dust.trd", "boot.B",basic_b, basic_e-basic_b
I am using simple solution: .scl with monoblok and custom loader.

Re: Making .TRD (for Pentagon and otherwise)

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:01 pm
by Ralf
If you have a multiload program then everything gets harder, I guess.

Every time you load something from a tape in your code, you have to replace it by the code
which loads data from .trd disk.