Keeping track of registers

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
Dr_Dave
Drutt

Keeping track of registers

Post by Dr_Dave »

Hi all!

After procrastinating on learning Z80 Assembly language for about 35 years, I'm finally taking the plunge and trying to figure it all out. I'm a coder by trade, so I figured "how hard could it be?" Proves what I know...

I am making some progress, mostly by writing broken code then interating each instruction until something basically kind of works. I'm trying to build a very basic game, and you can see the progress here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WyFkG-fZoHo

But I'm kind of getting to the point where I need to step back and rethink my approach. Specifically, how I keep track of and use all of my registers. I'm finding a lot of my bugs arise because I've overwritten a value I expected to find, or some unexpected value still exists from somewhere else in one of my registers. I don't really feel as if my rather haphazard approach will be scalable to something more extensive, so want to get hold of it now - in truth, the lack of variables, as such, has been the hardest concept to get my head around. I'm finding that it sometimes feels like I'm running out of fingers to count on.

So - a general topic for discussion. What is your approach to tracking your registers? How do you manage them cleanly in the most efficient way possible? Does this question even make sense?

Other than that - other than the brain-aching frustration - I'm actually really enjoying this little exercise and it's been great discovering this forum! No idea how coders in the 80s did it without PCs to code on and the internet to post dumb questions to :)
djnzx48
Manic Miner

Re: Keeping track of registers

Post by djnzx48 »

The game looks good so far!