Page 1 of 1

getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:25 pm
by 777
strangely if i use load s$(to 8), it says nonsense in basic but works when i run it. but when i execute the command without a line no it works without an error. why is this?

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:45 pm
by +3code
?
To me both runs without error

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:55 pm
by PeterJ
777 wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:25 pm strangely if i use load s$(to 8), it says nonsense in basic but works when i run it. but when i execute the command without a line no it works without an error. why is this?
Post a screenshot.

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:34 pm
by 777
PeterJ wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:55 pm
777 wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:25 pm strangely if i use load s$(to 8), it says nonsense in basic but works when i run it. but when i execute the command without a line no it works without an error. why is this?
Post a screenshot.
https://www.picpasteplus.com/v.php?i=cdcc1baf1c

now its saying end of file found

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:37 pm
by PeterJ
Do a screen grab of the output of the program and s$ when you run it as it was originally written.

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:39 pm
by +3code
777 wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:34 pm
PeterJ wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:55 pm Post a screenshot.
https://www.picpasteplus.com/v.php?i=cdcc1baf1c

now its saying end of file found
"Image does not exist"

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:40 pm
by 777
PeterJ wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:37 pm Do a screen grab of the output of the program and s$ when you run it as it was originally written.
https://www.picpasteplus.com/v.php?i=da2f960375

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:46 pm
by 777
+3code wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:39 pm
777 wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:34 pm https://www.picpasteplus.com/v.php?i=cdcc1baf1c

now its saying end of file found
"Image does not exist"
its working

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 12:30 am
by 777
PeterJ wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:55 pm
777 wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:25 pm strangely if i use load s$(to 8), it says nonsense in basic but works when i run it. but when i execute the command without a line no it works without an error. why is this?
Post a screenshot.
here it is again

https://upload.picpaste.me/image/iujYP

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 12:31 am
by 777
PeterJ wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:37 pm Do a screen grab of the output of the program and s$ when you run it as it was originally written.


here again...

https://upload.picpaste.me/image/iuQIx

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 1:16 am
by +3code
777 wrote: Mon Aug 03, 2020 12:30 am
PeterJ wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:55 pm Post a screenshot.
here it is again

https://upload.picpaste.me/image/iujYP
I don't see the "nonsense in basic" error with that code.

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 6:33 am
by PeterJ
Do you not need double quotes around the filename [mention]777[/mention]

Your code would I imagine result in:

Code: Select all

LOAD E
Rather than

Code: Select all

LOAD "E"
Which I imagine is why you are getting nonsense in basic.

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:43 am
by 1024MAK

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 12:11 pm
by +3code
PeterJ wrote: Mon Aug 03, 2020 6:33 am Which I imagine is why you are getting nonsense in basic.
I don't obtain any error with the code he posted.

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 1:15 am
by 777
+3code wrote: Mon Aug 03, 2020 12:11 pm
PeterJ wrote: Mon Aug 03, 2020 6:33 am Which I imagine is why you are getting nonsense in basic.
I don't obtain any error with the code he posted.
its ok i think ive sussed it. u cant load or merge anything when you have a program running. although you can save.

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:47 am
by +3code
777 wrote: Tue Aug 04, 2020 1:15 am
+3code wrote: Mon Aug 03, 2020 12:11 pm I don't obtain any error with the code he posted.
its ok i think ive sussed it. u cant load or merge anything when you have a program running. although you can save.
Ok, now I understand what you mean :D

The BASIC file to be loaded must be saved first as auto-run (with LINE), so all runs ok.

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 11:33 am
by Joefish
I think someone should write a 'C' compiler that reports:

Code: Select all

Error: Basic nonsense in C
:lol:

Re: getting c nonsense in basic when trying to load a program through a string in +3 basic

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 12:12 pm
by PeterJ
Joefish wrote: Tue Aug 04, 2020 11:33 am I think someone should write a 'C' compiler that reports:

Code: Select all

Error: Basic nonsense in C
:lol:
Slightly off topic, but this is a fun version of C:

https://lhartikk.github.io/ArnoldC/

This is an example of the syntax:

Code: Select all

IT'S SHOWTIME
TALK TO THE HAND "hello world"
YOU HAVE BEEN TERMINATED