Beginner's ASM Tutorial: Multiplatform Z80 ASM development videos... with vampires!

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
keith56
Berk

Beginner's ASM Tutorial: Multiplatform Z80 ASM development videos... with vampires!

Post by keith56 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 1:55 pm

It is with great honour I present to you my new Z80 tutorial series!
"Multiplatform Z80 ASM development videos... with vampires!"

I plan for these to take you from absolute beginner programmer, to Z80 game developer... I only learned ASM 18 months ago, and I'll teach you all the things I needed to learn, try to help you avoid the problems I had, and explain them in what I think is the easiest and fastest way for a beginner - I'll be using my own game as 'reference material' (hence the 'with vampires' comic title)

I'm teaching using the the CPC emulator WinApe , as it has a built in assembler and debugger that make it the easiest I've seen for a beginner to use and debug - but once I've taught the basics, I'll move on to ZX spectrum specific stuff... I've already done some technical videos on my youtube channel comparing the CPC/MSX and Spectrum

The website of this new tutorial is here:
http://www.chibiakumas.com/z80/

The lessons will have an accompanying video, which I intend you to watch as well as reading the website (though in theory you could do just either one)... The video for lesson 1 is here:

Lesson 1 is for the total beginner, I assume you've never even used winape before, and I'll show you how to enter, compile and debug your first Assembly program!

I plan to do more lessons, so I hope you enjoy it!

Post changed by admin to use new media tag.
2 x
Chibi Akuma(s) Comedy-Horror 8-bit Bullet Hell shooter for CPC - http://www.chibiakumas.com
「チビ悪魔」可笑しいゴシックSTG: http://www.chibiakuma.com
Chibi Akumas Episode 2:Confrontation for CPC ...Out Now!

Ralf
Manic Miner