The definitive "teach yourself machine code" text?

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
TMD2003
Rick Dangerous

The definitive "teach yourself machine code" text?

Post by TMD2003 »

I really need to know this, and I am going to throw it open to those in the know.

I HAVE: William H. Tang's "Spectrum Machine Language for the Absolute Beginner", the book.
I ALSO HAVE: "The Complete Machine Code Tutor" published by New Generation Software, the four-tape teach-yourself-on-the-Spectrum-itself package. I assume Malcolm Evans was in charge of this one.
I KNOW OF: Toni Baker's "Mastering Machine Code on your ZX Spectrum". I know t'other forum has a copy in the archive.

Should I press ahead with one of these three, or is there an alternative definitively brilliant book that is recommended by pretty much everyone?

I have a miminal understanding of machine code, so far, that is best described along these lines: "there are registers, there is a stack, numbers are shunted around on the registers and up and down the stack, witchcraft happens, and Manic Miner appears on the screen." Essentially, I do understand that there are these registers, but absolutely zero concept of how and why moving the numbers around does anything, or can do anything, other than mathematics.

So what I really need is the equivalent of, say, "how to explain electricity to a medieval alchemist", i.e. someone who's obviously not a complete brainlet, but who also has absolutely no concept that such a thing could even exist, let alone how it can be used in everyday life, and to whom it could be taken as proof of the existence of magic.