Need some help hiding the OK output.

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
Post Reply
Nomad
Manic Miner
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:38 pm

Need some help hiding the OK output.

Post by Nomad »

Image

So you can see my problem, my screen has the OK from basic, is there any way I can switch this off?

The way I got round this before was putting the game into an infinite loop but due to my potato coding that will mess up the screen :lol: I know what I should be doing using the Print AT control codes for the UGLS.

hmm. But I was sure there was a poke to switch off the OK message... I think that would be a better solution.

Code: Select all

ORG 44000

	CLEARSCR EQU	$DAF

MAINLOOP:
	CALL	BACKGROUND
	CALL	GAMELOOP
	RET

GAMELOOP:    
	CALL	MN_9
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_19
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_18
	RET

BACKGROUNDFILE: INCBIN "bkg.scr"

BACKGROUND:
	LD BC,$1830		;LENGTH OF BLOCK TO COPY
	LD HL,BACKGROUNDFILE	;SOURCE ADDRESS
	LD DE,$4000		;DESTINATION ADDRESS
	LDIR			;COPY BC BYTES FROM HL TO DE
	RET
	
;PRIMITIVE MAYAN NUMBER GLYPHS
; ALL THE NUMBERS ARE MADE UP OF THESE ATOMIC SUBROUTINES

; EMIT 1/4 OF THE LINE ROW
MN_LS:	LD A,	$8C
	RST 	$10
	RET

; EMIT 1/4 OF THE ROW OF DOTS LEFT ALIGNMENT
MN_DL:	LD A,	$88
	RST	$10
	RET

; EMIT 1/4 OF THE ROW OF DOTS RIGHT ALIGNMENT
MN_DR:	LD A,	$84
	RST	$10
	RET

; EMIT A BLANK SPACE
MN_SP:	LD A,	$80
	RST	$10
	RET

; EMIT CARRAGE RETURN
MN_CR:	LD A,	$0D
	RST	$10
	RET

; THESE ARE THE ROWS, EACH NUMBER POSITION HAS 4 ROWS,
; SO FOR 14 YOU WOULD HAVE 5, 5, 4, 0.
; FOR 3 YOU WOULD HAVE 3, 0, 0, 0.

; NUMBER 1 ROW

MN_AB:	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_CR
	RET

MN_A1:	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_DR
	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_CR
	RET

; NUMBER 2
MN_A2:	CALL	MN_DL
	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_DR
	CALL	MN_CR
	RET

; NUMBER 3
MN_A3:	CALL	MN_DL
	CALL	MN_SP
	CALL	MN_DL
	CALL	MN_DR
	CALL	MN_CR
	RET

; NUMBER 4 
MN_A4:	CALL	MN_DL
	CALL	MN_DL
	CALL	MN_DR
	CALL	MN_DR
	CALL	MN_CR
	RET

; NUMBER 5
MN_A5:	CALL 	MN_LS
	CALL 	MN_LS
	CALL 	MN_LS
	CALL 	MN_LS
	CALL	MN_CR
	RET

; MAYAN NUMBERS
; EACH NUMBER IS IN BASE 20 SO WE NEED 0-19.

; NUMBER 1
MN_1:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A1
	RET

; NUMBER 2
MN_2:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A2
	RET

; NUMBER 3
MN_3:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A3
	RET

; NUMBER 4 
MN_4:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A4
	RET

; NUMBER 5
MN_5:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 6
MN_6:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_A1
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 7
MN_7:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_A2
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 8
MN_8:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_A3
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 9
MN_9:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_A4
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 10
MN_10:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 11
MN_11:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A1
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 12
MN_12:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A2
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 13
MN_13:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A3
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 14
MN_14:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A4
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 15
MN_15:	CALL	MN_CR
	CALL	MN_A5
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 16
MN_16:	CALL	MN_A1
	CALL	MN_A5
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 17
MN_17:	CALL	MN_A2
	CALL	MN_A5
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 18
MN_18:	CALL	MN_A3
	CALL	MN_A5
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER 19
MN_19:	CALL	MN_A4
	CALL	MN_A5
	CALL 	MN_A5
	CALL	MN_A5
	RET

; NUMBER BLANK
MN_B:	
	CALL	MN_AB
	CALL	MN_AB
	CALL	MN_AB
	CALL 	MN_AB
	RET

END 44000
User avatar
R-Tape
Site Admin
Posts: 6353
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:46 am

Re: Need some help hiding the OK output.

Post by R-Tape »

No idea sorry (I use PAUSE 0 or a loop for dev purposes too)

Is that your screen for 'chess'? That looks proper mint.
Nomad
Manic Miner
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:38 pm

Re: Need some help hiding the OK output.

Post by Nomad »

R-Tape wrote: Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:04 am No idea sorry (I use PAUSE 0 or a loop for dev purposes too)

Is that your screen for 'chess'? That looks proper mint.
Ah that was just a test game for udg - ZXpaintbrush + pixelbay :lol: But mayan themed chess background wouldn't be such a bad idea now you come to mention it... hmmm. I have been planning to re-do crapchess in nirvana+ so it would be a nice fit i think.

Pause 0 will do just fine thanks :lol:

Image
Nomad
Manic Miner
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:38 pm

Re: Need some help hiding the OK output.

Post by Nomad »

Nice actually dangerously close to having a finished crap game :lol:

Numbers get generated, now all I need to do is plug in user input, check against the stored value generate a response.. badabing badaboom done.

If only I could fix the damn attribute clash lol...

I am rather partial to the red paper, black ink. :lol:

Image

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
Ast A. Moore
Rick Dangerous
Posts: 2640
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Need some help hiding the OK output.

Post by Ast A. Moore »

Very neat looking graphics!

One small suggestion, though. Avoid using any special “smoothing” filters on the video output. They may look cool on your computer screen, but they take away from your design decisions, when every pixel counts. If you can, either try enabling some filters that approximate a CRT TV, or use none (other than scaling, naturally).
Every man should plant a tree, build a house, and write a ZX Spectrum game.

Author of A Yankee in Iraq, a 50 fps shoot-’em-up—the first game to utilize the floating bus on the +2A/+3,
and zasm Z80 Assembler syntax highlighter.
Nomad
Manic Miner
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:38 pm

Re: Need some help hiding the OK output.

Post by Nomad »

Ast A. Moore wrote: Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:38 pm Very neat looking graphics!

One small suggestion, though. Avoid using any special “smoothing” filters on the video output. They may look cool on your computer screen, but they take away from your design decisions, when every pixel counts. If you can, either try enabling some filters that approximate a CRT TV, or use none (other than scaling, naturally).
That is a good point, I selected the HQ version for screen shots. I think that is what makes it look a little weird.

Got fuse running in BW mode with the TV settings on.

Could have been my importing images into zxpaintbrush was not all that careful. I need to go back and look at it again :lol:

Image

Image
Last edited by Nomad on Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Ast A. Moore
Rick Dangerous
Posts: 2640
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Need some help hiding the OK output.

Post by Ast A. Moore »

Nomad wrote: Sat Feb 17, 2018 3:07 pm I selected the HQ version for screen shots. I think that is what makes it look a little weird.
Yes, Fuse basically has a couple of simple interpolation filters. I think they’re there just because . . . someone at some point decided he could throw a few coding skills at it. I normally use the PAL TV 3x filter and select the “Use scanlines in PAL TV filters” option. It doesn’t exactly mimic a TV screen (it’s a bit too complex and strictly speaking not possible at 3x magnification anyway), but it’s the best approximation you can coax out of an emulator.
Every man should plant a tree, build a house, and write a ZX Spectrum game.

Author of A Yankee in Iraq, a 50 fps shoot-’em-up—the first game to utilize the floating bus on the +2A/+3,
and zasm Z80 Assembler syntax highlighter.
Post Reply