Page 31 of 32

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Fri May 10, 2019 6:44 pm
by ZXDunny
Actually, that doesn't look half bad.

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Fri May 10, 2019 7:29 pm
by arkannoyed
I know right?! Maybe he’s onto something! Option maybe?
Shouldn’t be too hard to implement, as it’s only masking and can be swapped by changing 1 byte.

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 2:54 pm
by arkannoyed
As far as general use is concerned, is it safe to use the R register? i.e. if I'm utilising it to store BIT 7, which in R remains unchanged as far as I can see, would that interfere with anything like attached peripherals that I'm not aware of?

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 2:59 pm
by Metalbrain
AFAIK bit 7 of register R is perfectly safe to be used. Jonathan Smith (aka Joffa) did use it as a flag in several of his games.

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 3:04 pm
by Ast A. Moore
arkannoyed wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 2:54 pm
As far as general use is concerned, is it safe to use the R register? i.e. if I'm utilising it to store BIT 7, which in R remains unchanged as far as I can see, would that interfere with anything like attached peripherals that I'm not aware of?
Perfectly safe. Go ahead.

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 3:09 pm
by arkannoyed
Good, shame its a 2 byte instruction though! :x

I've utilised it to hold the status of the current square being printed to set the mask that shades it or leaves Black etc. The whole process has added 21 bytes to the routine, however it works nicely and with no messy writes to memory addresses as was the case in the earlier attempts.

Now to make a final decision as to whether the piece selected to move will raise up or have a great big arrow pointing at it. Not really much in it in terms of size to graft into the routine, probably slightly less for making the piece float in the air.

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:01 pm
by arkannoyed
Amazing how quickly all this extra stuff eats into the spare bytes. Whereas there was 520 available, thats already dropped to 434 now that all of the visual extras are in. That might improve a little once I've tweeked a few things though.

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 9:28 pm
by djnzx48
arkannoyed wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 2:54 pm
As far as general use is concerned, is it safe to use the R register? i.e. if I'm utilising it to store BIT 7, which in R remains unchanged as far as I can see, would that interfere with anything like attached peripherals that I'm not aware of?
There's nothing wrong with using the full register either (if you don't write to it too much). If there are no interrupt routines running and you've run out of registers, it's sometimes possible to use R as an automatically incrementing loop counter.

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 8:59 am
by arkannoyed
I have experimented in the past using it as a counter, but I've no need to use it for anything cleaver in this production at the moment.

I could perhaps use the EXX set for something, but to save them all (or whichever I need to use) would be a bigger overhead.

Re: 3D Chess 2K18

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 9:00 am
by arkannoyed
Isn't it great when you change something that you think will have the desired effect, but then it turns out to achieve something quite different and unexpected. I added 3 bytes to try and alternate the squares select bit so that they showed grey, however this happened, which looks amazingly effective!

Image