Vortex Tracker help

On the creation of AY or Beeper music, including the packages used to do so.
User avatar
doone128
Drutt
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 8:31 am

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by doone128 »

Wow! Thanks!
User avatar
R-Tape
Site Admin
Posts: 6393
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:46 am

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by R-Tape »

djnzx48 wrote: Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:15 am There are a couple of presentations about AY/YM music scheduled for CAFe demoparty on Friday.
That is a SUPERB lineup, especially the multicolour lecture (though granted it's not related to this topic). It'd be great to have these kind of events in the UK. I could imagine the likes of gasman doing interesting talks.
Could be worth checking out if you understand Russian.
Assuming they get made available I'll have a look, but unless Denis Grachev is planning to sing this kid's song I'm going to struggle to say the least!
User avatar
uglifruit
Manic Miner
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:41 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by uglifruit »

Apologies if I'm being really stupid, but having made something on Vortex Tracker 2.5, I can export it as a .tap file ...
... but how do then play it on a Spectrum.

I'm left with the two data files, that I can load - apparently the player, and the data

But given ...
Image

I thought ...

Randomize usr 49152 (to initialise)
then
Randomize usr 49157 (to play it)

seemed sensible, looking at the 'HINTS' - but that doesn't work

What am I doing wrong?
CLEAR 23855
User avatar
R-Tape
Site Admin
Posts: 6393
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:46 am

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by R-Tape »

All looks correct to me.

Are you doing LOAD""CODE twice (for the player then the music)?

Then for playing:

CALL 49152 once only

then repeatedly call 49157 once every frame (or 10 PAUSE 1: RANDOMIZE USR 49157: GOTO 10 if BASIC).
User avatar
Alessandro
Dynamite Dan
Posts: 1910
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:10 am
Location: Messina, Italy
Contact:

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by Alessandro »

Here is a simple program that will play the music indefinitely (if "Disable Loop" hasn't been checked in the export preferences) unless a key is pressed. Run it with RANDOMIZE USR 49120 after you have loaded both the player and the music data. Change the value of ORG in order to adapt the program to the export address (the program is 31 bytes long but I rounded its example address to 49120 which is 32 bytes less than 49152).

Code: Select all

  PLAYER EQU 49152

  ORG 49120
 
  LD A,1
  LD (PLAYER+10),A
  CALL PLAYER
  EI
LOOP:
  HALT
  CALL PLAYER+5
  XOR A
  IN A,(254)
  CPL 
  AND 31
  JR NZ,FINE
  LD A,(PLAYER+10)
  RLA
  JR NC,LOOP
FINE:
  CALL PLAYER+8
  RET
User avatar
uglifruit
Manic Miner
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:41 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by uglifruit »

Thanks both.
I'll try this tomorrow and report back.
CLEAR 23855
User avatar
uglifruit
Manic Miner
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:41 pm
Location: Leicester
Contact:

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by uglifruit »

Thanks both.
They both work. I have no idea what I was doing incorrectly, but I'm sorted now.
CLEAR 23855
pianomatt
Drutt
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 10:38 pm

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by pianomatt »

Sorry to revive an old thread but I'm at a loss here.

I've created a track in Vortex Tracker II, compiled it as described above, assembled the loader exactly as described. Problem is I can't get the track to loop. It finished playback and just ends. I've tried it with a few different files, including a track I made myself. I've even tried two different versions of Vortex Tracker and I'm having no luck with either.
Alone Coder
Manic Miner
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 10:00 am

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by Alone Coder »

Do you have a loop position (L) in your position list?
pianomatt
Drutt
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 10:38 pm

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by pianomatt »

Yes, it's currently i the middle of the track, but I have tried it at the beginning as well.

Image
Alone Coder
Manic Miner
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 10:00 am

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by Alone Coder »

Maybe this player will help: http://nedoos.ru/svn/filedetails.php?re ... tsplay.asm
More PT3 players in Info Guide #11: http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=66207
pianomatt
Drutt
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 10:38 pm

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by pianomatt »

I figured it out. The previous code seems to be based on the VT tracker example code for play once and then stop.

This code makes the module play over and over until a key is pressed.

Code: Select all

ORG 		49120
CALL 		#C000 ;calling init
		EI ;enable interrupts
Loop		HALT ;wait for next interrupt
		CALL #C005 ;call play
		XOR A ;test keyboard
		IN A,(#FE)
		CPL
		AND 15
		JR Z,Loop
XoRRoX
Manic Miner
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:34 am

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Post by XoRRoX »

Are you trying to play a vt2 or a pt3 file?
As for the pt3 player I use, it uses a so-called "setup" byte to indicate if the tune has to be looped or not.
Post Reply