Page 1 of 2

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:01 pm
by doone128
Wow! Thanks!

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 1:21 pm
by R-Tape
djnzx48 wrote: Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:15 am There are a couple of presentations about AY/YM music scheduled for CAFe demoparty on Friday.
That is a SUPERB lineup, especially the multicolour lecture (though granted it's not related to this topic). It'd be great to have these kind of events in the UK. I could imagine the likes of gasman doing interesting talks.
Could be worth checking out if you understand Russian.
Assuming they get made available I'll have a look, but unless Denis Grachev is planning to sing this kid's song I'm going to struggle to say the least!

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:10 pm
by uglifruit
Apologies if I'm being really stupid, but having made something on Vortex Tracker 2.5, I can export it as a .tap file ...
... but how do then play it on a Spectrum.

I'm left with the two data files, that I can load - apparently the player, and the data

But given ...
Image

I thought ...

Randomize usr 49152 (to initialise)
then
Randomize usr 49157 (to play it)

seemed sensible, looking at the 'HINTS' - but that doesn't work

What am I doing wrong?

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:18 pm
by R-Tape
All looks correct to me.

Are you doing LOAD""CODE twice (for the player then the music)?

Then for playing:

CALL 49152 once only

then repeatedly call 49157 once every frame (or 10 PAUSE 1: RANDOMIZE USR 49157: GOTO 10 if BASIC).

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:33 pm
by Alessandro
Here is a simple program that will play the music indefinitely (if "Disable Loop" hasn't been checked in the export preferences) unless a key is pressed. Run it with RANDOMIZE USR 49120 after you have loaded both the player and the music data. Change the value of ORG in order to adapt the program to the export address (the program is 31 bytes long but I rounded its example address to 49120 which is 32 bytes less than 49152).

Code: Select all

  PLAYER EQU 49152

  ORG 49120
 
  LD A,1
  LD (PLAYER+10),A
  CALL PLAYER
  EI
LOOP:
  HALT
  CALL PLAYER+5
  XOR A
  IN A,(254)
  CPL 
  AND 31
  JR NZ,FINE
  LD A,(PLAYER+10)
  RLA
  JR NC,LOOP
FINE:
  CALL PLAYER+8
  RET

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:47 pm
by uglifruit
Thanks both.
I'll try this tomorrow and report back.

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 11:20 am
by uglifruit
Thanks both.
They both work. I have no idea what I was doing incorrectly, but I'm sorted now.

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 8:09 pm
by pianomatt
Sorry to revive an old thread but I'm at a loss here.

I've created a track in Vortex Tracker II, compiled it as described above, assembled the loader exactly as described. Problem is I can't get the track to loop. It finished playback and just ends. I've tried it with a few different files, including a track I made myself. I've even tried two different versions of Vortex Tracker and I'm having no luck with either.

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 8:42 pm
by Alone Coder
Do you have a loop position (L) in your position list?

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 9:26 pm
by pianomatt
Yes, it's currently i the middle of the track, but I have tried it at the beginning as well.

Image

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2021 5:23 pm
by Alone Coder
Maybe this player will help: http://nedoos.ru/svn/filedetails.php?re ... tsplay.asm
More PT3 players in Info Guide #11: http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=66207

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 7:33 pm
by pianomatt
I figured it out. The previous code seems to be based on the VT tracker example code for play once and then stop.

This code makes the module play over and over until a key is pressed.

Code: Select all

ORG 		49120
CALL 		#C000 ;calling init
		EI ;enable interrupts
Loop		HALT ;wait for next interrupt
		CALL #C005 ;call play
		XOR A ;test keyboard
		IN A,(#FE)
		CPL
		AND 15
		JR Z,Loop

Re: Vortex Tracker help

Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2021 6:30 pm
by XoRRoX
Are you trying to play a vt2 or a pt3 file?
As for the pt3 player I use, it uses a so-called "setup" byte to indicate if the tune has to be looped or not.