Repairing ZX Spectrum issue two

For experts to discuss very technical stuff and newbies to ask why the Spectrum they bought off ebay doesn't work.
Pygmalion
Drutt

Repairing ZX Spectrum issue two

Post by Pygmalion »

Disclaimer: I have posted this question to "Sinclair ZX80 / ZX81 / Z88 Forums" but received no answer. I apologise if you have already seen this question.

I recently dusted off my ZX Spectrum, which my father bought me and smuggled to Eastern Europe in the first half of the 1980s. What a story.

I made my first programming steps in Basic and Assembler on this computer. Those were the days.

But it does not work. I checked the -5V, +5V and +12V lines and they are fine. But when I switch it on, all I see is a flashing square:

(

The pattern of the flashing square changes between resets.

Do you have any idea how I can make this thing work?

I have basic knowledge of electronics and soldering.

There are few peculiarities on the board: big cooler on ULA, unusual spider mod and something that looks like extra audio output.
dfzx
Manic Miner

Re: Repairing ZX Spectrum issue two

Post by dfzx »

Pygmalion wrote: Tue Sep 19, 2023 10:45 am I recently dusted off my ZX Spectrum, which my father bought me and smuggled to Eastern Europe in the first half of the 1980s. What a story.
You should head straight over the "Introduce yourself" thread and tell it. We'd all like to hear that one.
Pygmalion wrote: Tue Sep 19, 2023 10:45 am Do you have any idea how I can make this thing work?
Yes. Well, maybe not me so much, but there are others who will. :)

First, explain how you measured the voltages. What points did you measure across and what voltage, exactly, did you find at each point?

What test equipment do you have? Do you have access to a diagnostics ROM device?

How original do you want to keep the board?

Does that white(-ish) border appear every time you restart the machine? Try 10 times.