If you could work on your favourite magazine...

Y'know, other stuff, Sinclair related.
PeteProdge
Bugaboo

If you could work on your favourite magazine...

Post by PeteProdge »

If you could go back in time to be a writer on your favourite computer magazine, what kind of era and what section/genre would you like to write in?
Reheated Pixels - a combination of retrogaming, comedy and factual musing, is here!
New video: Nine ZX Spectrum magazine controversies - How Crash, Your Sinclair and Sinclair User managed to offend the world!
PeteProdge
Bugaboo

Re: If you could work on your favourite magazine...

Post by PeteProdge »

Obviously, for me it's Your Sinclair, post-1987 and I'd happily helm the letters page and/or do the occasional review. That's me as I am now, rather than the me at the age I was, 'cos I was a terrible writer back then.
Reheated Pixels - a combination of retrogaming, comedy and factual musing, is here!
New video: Nine ZX Spectrum magazine controversies - How Crash, Your Sinclair and Sinclair User managed to offend the world!
Mpk
Dynamite Dan

Post by Mpk »

Cover artist for Newsfield, replacing Oli Frey masterpieces with frankly terrible scrawls in crayon and Bic pen ink.
Spoiler
PeteProdge
Bugaboo

Post by PeteProdge »

Mpk wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 11:47 am Cover artist for Newsfield, replacing Oli Frey masterpieces with frankly terrible scrawls in crayon and Bic pen ink.
This is an unpopular opinion, but one I hold sincerely. The over-the-top ubiquity of Oli Frey's art in Crash (and its sister mags) really ruined it for me. He can draw, yes, he can paint, yes - a tremendously skilled artist, but there wasn't any need for him to supply the same style on, like, nearly two thirds of the pages. It was Groundhog Day in paper form. He should have let writing 'breathe'.