Measuring frames/VSYNC

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
Prototron
Drutt

Measuring frames/VSYNC

Post by Prototron »

Hi Folks!

So I've been experimenting with timing and screen syncing with a soft double buffer.

The code below seems like the most common way, but I'm not quite sure it's efficient? The HALT stops any additional screen tearing but it could just be unnecessary waiting (it all currently sits at the top of my main loop).

As a Z80 noob I'm wondering if there's a better way to measure frames? On The Amiga I just waited for the last line of the display using VPOSR and then I was in VBLANK right after, but I don't think there's a beam register on the Speccy, so I assume the code below is doing roughly the same thing?

Thanks!

Code: Select all

CURRENT_TIMER 	= 23672 	; $5C78

VWAIT:
	ei
	;---------------------------
	ld 		hl,TIMERPREV		; Previous time setting
   	ld	 	a,(CURRENT_TIMER)	; Current timer setting
   	sub 		(hl)			; Difference between the two
    	cp 		1			; # of frames elapsed
	jr 		nc,VWAITEND		; Exit
	;  - EXTRA STUFF, MAYBE? -
    	jr 		VWAIT			; Repeat
VWAITEND:
	ld 		a,(CURRENT_TIMER)	; Current timer
    	ld 		(hl),a			; Store this setting
	HALT
	call 		FLIPBUFFER		; LDI Screen Copy from $C000 to $4000
	di
"For the money, for the glory, and for the fun! Mostly for the money."
~ Bo "Bandit" Darville
Stefan
Manic Miner

Re: Measuring frames/VSYNC

Post by Stefan »

If you do not mind your code not working on all models, search for “floating bus”.
PROSM
Manic Miner

Post by PROSM »