what would this be equivilent to in assembler?

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
Manic Miner

what would this be equivilent to in assembler?

Post by 777 »

if inkeys$="m" then x=x+1

i understand the keyboard matrix is read differently in assembler/m code
i started programming the spectrum when i was 8 :-

1 plot rnd*255,rnd*175
2 goto 1
Seven.FFF
Manic Miner

Re: what would this be equivilent to in assembler?

Post by Seven.FFF »

There's lots of ways depending on whether X is in a register or memory location, whether it can go larger than 255, whether you want it to wrap or stop at a certain max value, whether you want to do something with X after increasing it, etc. But something like this is a good start:

Code: Select all

Key.SpSsMNB             equ $7ffe                       ; Keyboard half row for Space, Sybmbol Shift, M, N, and B
Xcoordinate:            db 0                            ; Location to store X (0..255)

; ...

IncreaseX:              ld bc, Key.SpSsMNB              ; Bit 0 = Space, bit 4 = B
                        in a, (c)                       ; Read kb half row with Space, Sybmbol Shift, M, N, and B
                        and %00100                      ; Clear all bits except for M
                        ld a, (Xcoordinate)             ; Read existing value of X
                        jr nz, .notM                    ; A will only be zero if X key is pressed
                        inc a                           ; X = X + 1
                        ld (Xcoordinate), a             ; Save new value of X back for next time
.notM:                                                  ; X is now in A register so we can do something with it next
It's worth pointing out that here, the and sets the flags, including the zero flag. Then the ld loads a new value into a, which doesn't change the flags. Then the jr nz is doing the conditional jump based on the flags from the old value of a.