DC-DC mod query

For experts to discuss very technical stuff and newbies to ask why the Spectrum they bought off ebay doesn't work.
dfzx
Manic Miner

DC-DC mod query

Post by dfzx »

I have an issue 3 board which has a faulty 12V supply (reads a wobbly +1.2V). -5V works correctly.

I've never tried to fix a DC-DC problem before, so I thought I'd start from first principles. The board has had a DC-DC mod of some sort, so I've had a good look at it and taken notes. Here's an annotated image:

I was following the modification described here. The mod on my board seems similar, but not quite the same. In particular, the 2 hand soldered diodes I've marked with green dots don't seem to correspond to anything in the documented mod. Do I misunderstand, or is this a variant with a couple of extra diodes?

I'm not quite sure how to proceed. I could just dismantle this lot. I think I might have to because I can't physically get to TR4 and TR5 in order to test or replace them. Nothing moves or bends! I can feel with a fingertip that one of them gets hot. On the other hand, most of this seems to be related to the -5V supply which is working fine, so I don't really want to pull it all apart if that's not necessary.

Advice please?
Derek Fountain, author of the ZX Spectrum C Programmer's Getting Started Guide and various open source games, hardware and other projects, including an IF1 and ZX Microdrive emulator.
drdivago
Dizzy

Re: DC-DC mod query

Post by drdivago »

Hi,

I follow the instructions in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbIJza7ElrE

Ciao
Leo
dfzx
Manic Miner

Post by dfzx »

That's an excellent video, but his final work doesn't look much like the board I have!

I'm still working on it...
Derek Fountain, author of the ZX Spectrum C Programmer's Getting Started Guide and various open source games, hardware and other projects, including an IF1 and ZX Microdrive emulator.
1024MAK
Bugaboo

Post by 1024MAK »