New Game Creator

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
pgregory
Drutt

New Game Creator

Post by pgregory »

Hi All,

Not sure if this is the right place to post, my apologies if not, can someone point me to a more appropriate place?

I've started work on a new piece of PC software to make it easier for non-programmers to create games for a Spectrum, 16/48/128 initially, with Next on the roadmap.

It's very early days, but I've started recording some videos of the progress and would welcome any thoughts and suggestions.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 5pU24T5BLL

For reference, if anyone's interested at all, I have some background in this, having created the 3D Construction Kit back in the day at Incentive, and worked on more tools and technology stacks at game studios since than I can remember.

Paul
Daveysloan
Manic Miner

Re: New Game Creator

Post by Daveysloan »

This looks fantastic! Really intuitive.

I'm especially excited by the prospect of having a Next game creator in the pipeline!
clebin
Manic Miner

Post by clebin »

Agreed, this looks great! I'm also pleased to see it's cross-platform. Mac support is always the first thing I check, as so many tools are Windows-only (eg. MPAGD), or sort-of-working-with-Mono (eg. #CSpect). I'll definitely be trying this.
pgregory wrote: Mon Apr 15, 2024 5:28 pm For reference, if anyone's interested at all, I have some background in this, having created the 3D Construction Kit back in the day at Incentive
Wowzers! I remember watching the VHS and building my house in 3DCK. That was really great software. It was Amiga version I had - not sure if you worked on that?
cmal
Manic Miner

Post by cmal »

Great work so far! It looks awesome! I like the look of the drag and drop interface that you created. Also nice is that you have an integrated emulator for testing.
pgregory
Drutt

Post by pgregory »