ZX BASIC syntax highlighter

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
patters
Manic Miner

ZX BASIC syntax highlighter

Post by patters »

I went down the considerable rabbit hole of making a syntax highlighter for ZX BASIC for the Linux/Mac/Windows code editor Sublime Text. It'll highlight regular .bas files too since it's a superset of Sinclair BASIC. It's nice to program for the Speccy on a modern editor at last :D

https://github.com/patters-syno/zx-basic-syntax

chrisfoulds
Drutt

Re: ZX BASIC syntax highlighter

Post by chrisfoulds »

Awesome, will use that!
Jbizzel
Dynamite Dan

Post by Jbizzel »

Brilliant.

I can't get it to work though. It's not highlighting anything. I followed the instructions. I've never used sublime before, am.i doing something stupid? Please help
patters
Manic Miner

Post by patters »

I've just gone through the motions and it works for me, even on a completely fresh downloaded copy of Sublime.
Did you definitely put the syntax file inside the User folder, and not one level up?
And can you see ZX BASIC as a choice in the View > Syntax menu?
equinox
Dynamite Dan

Post by equinox »

Technically I suppose you need slightly different rules for different models, e.g. on a +3 you can do COPY "..." TO SPECTRUM FORMAT, and on a 48k you can use the buggy MOVE a$,b$ (which I slipped into my CSSCGC entry) but that doesn't work on a +2a or +3. And of course the grey +2 has that weird exclamation-mark RAM-disc syntax, ERASE ! "myfile"
patters
Manic Miner

Post by patters »