Adding music to a program

The place for codemasters or beginners to talk about programming any language for the Spectrum.
Jbizzel
Dynamite Dan

Adding music to a program

Post by Jbizzel »

I have made a tune on beepola, save as a code only tap file.

I have my game that calls the tune with

Code: Select all

randomize usr val "60000"
But how do I make these all into 1 tap file so they work together?

Im using zx basic for the program. It's my first time adding music to a game, I feel like I'm so close lol - please help!
Jbizzel
Dynamite Dan

Re: Adding music to a program

Post by Jbizzel »

Note that it is possible to join .TAP files by simply stringing them together; for example, in DOS / Windows: COPY /B FILE1.TAP + FILE2.TAP ALL.TAP ; or in Unix/Linux: cp file1.tap all.tap && cat file2.tap >> all.tap
Maybe I can do this...
Ast A. Moore
Rick Dangerous

Post by Ast A. Moore »

Load them into the RAM one after another, carefully noting the length of each tune and adding it to the staring address. Then save everything as a single block.

To play each tune, you simply poke in the address of each tune before launching the player.

For example, if you have tune #1 with a length of 1359 bytes, and tune #2 with a length of 125 bytes, load the first song at address 60000, the second one at 61360. Then save them both as a single contiguous block with a length of 1484 bytes (1359+125).
Every man should plant a tree, build a house, and write a ZX Spectrum game.

Author of A Yankee in Iraq, a 50 fps shoot-’em-up—the first game to utilize the floating bus on the +2A/+3,
and zasm Z80 Assembler syntax highlighter.
Jbizzel
Dynamite Dan

Post by Jbizzel »

[mention]Ast A. Moore[/mention] thanks.

I feel I am a long way for being able to try what you are saying. I'm very much a beginner.

Here is where I got too.. I now have a tap file that I created like this:

I made a basic loader in fuse
I then made a code block only tap file with beepola