SAM Coupé Sprites

Anything relating to non Sinclair computers from the 1980's, 90's or even before.
Post Reply
User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 928
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by PeterJ » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:58 am

I read that the SAM Coupé has software defined sprites, but can't see this in the manual. Have I been mislead?
0 x

AndyC
Microbot
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:12 am

Re: SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by AndyC » Mon Apr 09, 2018 12:15 pm

It was certainly possible to grab bits of the screen from BASIC and draw them elsewhere on the screen, which could be used as a primitive sprite function. Something like GET$ and PUT$ if I recall correctly.
0 x

Ralf
Manic Miner
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:59 am
Location: Poland

Re: SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by Ralf » Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:59 pm

Do you mean sprites available from Basic? Yes, I recall SAM's Basic was quite advanced and allowed such stuff.
0 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 928
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by PeterJ » Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:17 pm

Ralf wrote:
Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:59 pm
Do you mean sprites available from Basic? Yes, I recall SAM's Basic was quite advanced and allowed such stuff.
Thank @Ralf, but I can see no mention of this in the manual.
0 x

AndyC
Microbot
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:12 am

Re: SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by AndyC » Mon Apr 09, 2018 5:48 pm

Ah, found a copy of the manual online. The relevant commands are GRAB and PUT. It's not really "sprites" as such, but is enough building blocks (including the ability to mask graphics) that you can create simple software sprites in BASIC without too much difficulty. Only works in screen modes 3 and 4 though apparently.

I really must get round to installing SimCoupe and playing around with the SAM again some time. Shame the actual hardware is so darned hard to get hold of!
0 x

User avatar
PeterJ
Site Admin
Posts: 928
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by PeterJ » Mon Apr 09, 2018 5:55 pm

Thanks @AndyC, I'm using ZEsarUX from @chernandezba which supports the machine. You are right about the price of the original hardware. It's mad!
1 x

chernandezba
Berk
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:39 am

Re: SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by chernandezba » Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:48 pm

Thanks! :)
Although Sam emulation on ZEsarUX is experimental
0 x

ellvis
Berk
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:55 am

Re: SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by ellvis » Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:24 am

Hi,

no, Sam Coupé have no hardware sprites. The only hardware things you can use are line interrupts and palette change, that's all. On the other hand, BASIC is pretty clever and allow you to use a blitter and so on, but behind the scenes it is all software.
1 x

User avatar
Turtle_Quality
Berk
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:19 pm

Re: SAM Coupé Sprites

Post by Turtle_Quality » Sat Jan 05, 2019 6:37 pm

Fred magazine ran some coding articles that can be found here

https://sam.speccy.cz/coding.html

including number 20 Sprites
1 x

Post Reply