Where did the music from treasure island dizzy come from? Is it a classical piece?

On the creation of AY or Beeper music, including the packages used to do so.
Manic Miner

Where did the music from treasure island dizzy come from? Is it a classical piece?

Post by 777 »

I've had a look at Google and yolfolk.com but can't find any references
i started programming the spectrum when i was 8 :-

1 plot rnd*255,rnd*175
2 goto 1
AndyC
Dynamite Dan

Re: Where did the music from treasure island dizzy come from? Is it a classical piece?

Post by AndyC »

It was written by David Whittaker for Treasure Island Dizzy, as far as I am aware.

Most games of that era had music composed purely for the games.
Ralf
Rick Dangerous

Re: Where did the music from treasure island dizzy come from? Is it a classical piece?

Post by Ralf »

It's takes its inspirations from "tropical music" like Carribean or Hawaiian but seems to be an original composition.
Lee Bee
Dynamite Dan

Post by Lee Bee »

IMHO I'd say it's definitely an original piece written by David Whittaker, since it has all the hallmarks of his writing style, like the descending triplets heard in the melody—these feature in other Whittaker tunes of the time, including the original Dizzy game, and the BMX Freestyle title screen.

The chord progression between 1 and 6 is also something Whittaker used in games such as ATV Simulator. Not to mention liberal use of key change, which is classic Whittaker! :D

Inspiration