decolourizing games

Propose new game/software design concepts or new game/software ideas. They can be as whimsical as you like, just be careful you don't ask someone to make it for you...
Manic Miner

decolourizing games

Post by 777 »

i just had a thought. would some games look better decolorized?

take a look at this for example:

i started programming the spectrum when i was 8 :-

1 plot rnd*255,rnd*175
2 goto 1
Einar Saukas
Bugaboo

Re: decolourizing games

Post by Einar Saukas »

777 wrote: Sun Aug 13, 2023 2:14 pm i just had a thought. would some games look better decolorized?
No.

That was an easy answer. Next question please :)
Alessandro
Dynamite Dan

Post by Alessandro »

Not for me. Especially games like Cybernoid which manage to keep colour clash at a minimum.

Mind you, colour clash has never bothered me that much.
Pegaz
Dynamite Dan

Post by Pegaz »

777 wrote: Sun Aug 13, 2023 2:14 pm i just had a thought. would some games look better decolorized?

take a look at this for example:

Some games probably, but not Cybernoid.
Both sequels are amzing as they are, I just didn't notice that color clash was such a problem there.
On the other hand, Transformers would be a good candidate or maybe Everyone's Wally...
stupidget
Dynamite Dan

Post by stupidget »

Cybernoid is probably not the best game to choose it’s one of the best looking and relatively clash free games on the Speccy.
Jack and the Beanstalk would be a contender to be made de-coloured, but even doing that wouldn’t make any less of a ball-ache to play.
Last edited by stupidget on Sun Aug 13, 2023 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
blucey
Manic Miner

Post by blucey »

Please don't Tiertex my favourite colourful games.
Manic Miner

Post by 777 »

blucey wrote: Sun Aug 13, 2023 4:29 pm Please don't Tiertex my favourite colourful games.
yeah it just a bad example, i know

1 plot rnd*255,rnd*175
2 goto 1
Ralf
Rick Dangerous

Post by Ralf »

Certainly not.